Album Stream: Hotel of the Laughing Tree


Purchase CD

Hotel of the Laughing Tree (also referred to by fans as “Hotel”) is an indie/rock/pop sextet from Long Island, New York. After the dissolution of the progressive rock band Rendezvous with the Kidnappers, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Aj Estrada began to put together a new project with a distinctive Indie/Pop sound. In May 2009 Estrada made a trip down to Nashville TN, alongside fellow bandmates Brandon Peterson (Lead Guitar, and Harmony Vocals), and Neil Scalese (Drums/Percussion). Together they recorded their debut EP ‘Old Dominion’, with Producer Joshua Silverberg of Edison Glass.

After Old Dominion’s completion, Hotel developed a more classic lineup adding Anthony Arma on Bass, Michael Nixdorf sharing Percussion Duties as well as playing Glockenspiel, and Mike Solomon playing Keys.

Upon its release, ‘Old Dominion’ garnered a very positive review from the popular alternative music site AbsolutePunk, receiving praise for its songs’ diversity in sound and catchy hooks. While continuing to play shows on and around the Long Island area, Hotel entered the 6th Annual mtvU Woodie Awards in the category “Best Music on Campus“. On November 18th, 2009, Hotel made the trip to New York City, and accepted their award on national television. They were then featured in Alternative Press Magazine as the Unsigned Band of the Week for January 29, 2010.

In the beginning of 2010 Hotel went back to the studio with Joshua Silverberg to start recording their full-length “Terror and Everything After.” Since recording their debut album, the band has signed with Indie label Brookvale Records.